What are Home and Community Based Services?

The Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver program was established by Section 2176 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981 and was incorporated into the Social Security Act at Section 1915c.

Under the HCBS program, individual states can elect to furnish under Medicaid, as an alternative to institutional care, a broad array of services that are not otherwise covered under the Medicaid program. The Act lists s

The Act lists seven specific services that may be provided under the HCBS waiver program including:

  • Case management services
  • Homemaker services
  • Home health aide services
  • Personal care services
  • Adult day health care services
  • Habilitation services
  • Respite care

Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) allow people who would otherwise be institutionalized, such as older adults or persons with disabilities, to live in their own home and community through programs developed through Medicaid or other state funding sources.

The Medicaid HCBS waivers are an important tool for States to meet the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Individuals living with CDKL5 should qualify for a waiver through this program regardless of income. If you live outside of the USA, you will want to investigate how to access additional services that might be appropriate for your child, in your country or region.